First screened in July 2018
Director: Carlos López Estrada. Cast: Daveed Diggs, Rafael Casal, Javina Gavankar, Jasmine Cephas Jones, Ethan Embry, Utakarsh Ambudkar, Kevin Carroll, Tisha Campbell-Martin, Wayne Knight, Nyambi Nyambi, Ziggy Baitinger, Lance Holloway, Jon Chaffin. Screenplay: Rafael Casal and Daveed Diggs.

Twitter Capsule: Gives intermittently biting expression to tricky, timely ideas that are fitfully served by the script and direction.

VOR:   Beyond the volatile themes it engages (albeit unevenly), the film devises unique scene structures and expressive idioms (though these, too, are uneven).

Photo © 2018 Lionsgate/Summit Entertainment

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Permalink Home 2018 ABC Blog E-Mail