Screened in October 2010
Director: Elia Kazan. Cast: Dana Andrews, Lee J. Cobb, Arthur Kennedy, Robert Keith, Sam Levene, Ed Begley, Jane Wyatt, Cara Williams, Clay Clement, Karl Malden, Ben Lackland, Wyrley Birch, Dudley Sadler, Taylor Holmes, Philip Coolidge, George Petrie, voice of Reed Hadley. Screenplay: Moss Hart (based on an article by Anthony Abbot, aka Fulton Oursler).
Twitter Capsule: Too perfunctory to compel as noir, and shows signs of early fatigue in that 40s genre of docudrama thrillers.

Photo © 1947 20th Century Fox
Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: C+

Academy Award Nominations:
Best Screenplay: Richard Murphy

Other Awards:
New York Film Critics Circle: Best Director (Kazan; also cited for Gentleman's Agreement)
National Board of Review: Best Director (Kazan; also cited for Gentleman's Agreement)

Permalink Home 1947 ABC Blog E-Mail