First screened in June 2019
Director: Olivia Wilde. Cast: Beanie Feldstein, Kaitlyn Dever, Skyler Gisondo, Billie Lourd, Victoria Ruesga, Diana Silvers, Jessica Williams, Jason Sudeikis, Austin Crute, Eduardo Franco, Noah Galvin, Mason Gooding, Molly Gordon, Nico Hiraga, Will Forte, Lisa Kudrow. Screenplay: Emily Halpern & Sarah Haskins and Susanna Fogel and Katie Silberman.

Twitter Capsule: Feldstein's a treasure and LOLs are in fair supply but thinness of script and character only feel more obvious over time.

VOR:   In clarity of storytelling and characterization and in acuity and dexterity of filmmaking, this lags behind recent peaks in its genre.

Photo © 2019 United Artists/Annapurna Pictures

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: C+

Golden Globe Nominations:
Best Actress (Musical/Comedy): Beanie Feldstein

Other Awards:
Independent Spirit Awards: Best First Feature

Permalink Home 2019 ABC Blog E-Mail