Mr. Turner
First screened in December 2014
Director: Mike Leigh. Cast: Timothy Spall, Dorothy Atkinson, Marion Bailey, Paul Jesson, Martin Savage, Ruth Sheen, Sandy Foster, Amy Dawson, Karl Johnson, Lesley Manville, Joshua McGuire, Stuart McQuarrie, Sylvestra Le Touzel, David Horovitch, Karina Fernandez, Kate O'Flynn, Nicola Sloane, James Fleet, Richard Bremmer, Niall Buggy, Leo Bill, James Dryden, Fred Pearson, Tom Edden, Jamie Thomas King, Mark Stanley, Nicholas Jones, Clive Francis, Robert Portal, Simon Chandler, Edward de Souza, Roger Ashton-Griffiths, Patrick Godfrey, Alice Bailey Johnson, James Norton, Michael Keane, Peter Wight, Fenella Woolgar, Judith Amsenga, Helen Cooper. Screenplay: Mike Leigh.

Twitter Capsule: Some blunter moments, but Leigh, like Turner, can see a thing, what's in and around it, and whom and what it implicates.

VOR:   Hopefully not Leigh's valediction, but an apt one. Sums up his themes and graduates his techniques while wholly focusing on other characters and times.

Photo © 2014 Film4/Focus Features International/Thin Man Films/Xofa Productions

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: A–

Academy Award Nominations:
Best Cinematography: Dick Pope
Best Production Design: Suzie Davies and Charlotte Watts
Best Costume Design: Jacqueline Durran
Best Original Score: Gary Yershon

Other Awards:
Cannes Film Festival: Best Actor (Spall); Vulcain Prize (Dick Pope, cinematography)
New York Film Critics Circle: Best Actor (Spall)
National Society of Film Critics: Best Actor (Spall); Best Cinematography (Dick Pope)
European Film Awards: Best Actor (Spall)

Permalink Home 2014 ABC Blog E-Mail