First screened in May 2012
Director: Miloš Forman. Cast: Howard E. Rollins, Jr., Elizabeth McGovern, James Olson, Mary Steenburgen, Brad Dourif, James Cagney, Mandy Patinkin, Debbie Allen, Kenneth McMillan, Robert Joy, Norman Mailer, Jeff Daniels, Moses Gunn, Fran Drescher, Edwin Cooper, Alan Gifford, Frankie Faison, Samuel L. Jackson, Calvin Levels, Dorsey Wright, Jeffrey DeMunn, Pat O'Brien, Donald O'Connor, Thomas E. Carlin, Bessie Love. Screenplay: Michael Weller (based on the novel by E.L. Doctorow).

Twitter Capsule: Uneven start reaches some moving, zesty highs in middle, care of Forman's comic sensibility. Then it skids to a long halt.

Second Capsule: Sometimes the novel's colors come through, but its energies too seldom surface. Imagine what Altman could've done with it.

VOR:   American movies almost never explore this period, much less in such a panoramic and politicized way. Even if this version doesn't fully capitalize on those chances, it's an attempt.

Photo © 1981 Paramount Pictures

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: C+

Academy Award Nominations:
Best Supporting Actress: Elizabeth McGovern
Best Supporting Actor: Howard E. Rollins, Jr.
Best Adapted Screenplay: Michael Weller
Best Cinematography: Miroslav Ondricek
Best Art Direction: John Graysmark, Patrizia von Brandenstein, and Anthony Reading; George De Titta, Sr., George De Titta, Jr., and Peter Howitt
Best Costume Design: Anna Hill Johnstone
Best Original Score: Randy Newman
Best Original Song: "One More Hour"

Golden Globe Nominations:
Best Picture (Drama)
Best Director: Miloš Forman
Best Supporting Actress: Mary Steenburgen
Best Supporting Actor: Howard E. Rollins, Jr.
Best New Star of the Year: Elizabeth McGovern
Best New Star of the Year: Howard E. Rollins, Jr.
Best Original Song: "One More Hour"

Other Awards:
Los Angeles Film Critics Association: Best Music (Newman)

Permalink Home 1981 ABC Blog E-Mail