Sweet Country
First screened in September 2017
Director: Warwick Thornton. Cast: Hamilton Morris, Natassia Gorey Furber, Bryan Brown, Ewen Leslie, Thomas M. Wright, Tremayne Doolan, Trevon Doolan, Sam Neill, Gibson John, Anni Finsterer. Screenplay: David Tranter and Steven McGregor.

Twitter Capsule: Deft, sinuous play with time. Gorgeously lensed. A bit blunt, deliberately, with other visual and narrative tactics.

VOR:   The editing is the area of greatest innovation. Storytelling goes mostly where you expect, which is partly the point. Some peaks, some padding.

Photo © 2017 Bunya Productions/Sweet Country Films

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B

Toronto International Film Festival: Platform Prize
Venice Film Festival: Special Jury Prize

Permalink Home 2017 (wp) 2018 (us) ABC Blog E-Mail